A Georgia Instructional Permit is granted to year-olds upon successfully passing a written examination. The driver with this permit must be accompanied by a passenger who is at least 21 years old and possesses a valid Class C driver's license at all times while driving. The Intermediate License is granted to drivers between 16 and 18 years of age who have held an Instructional Permit for 12 months and passed a driving test.
Georgia Points Suspension Under 21 If you are under age 21 and are convicted of a traffic offense that is a 4 point violationyour license will be suspended. Periods of Georgia License Suspension If you are convicted of any of the above offenses, your driver's license will be suspended as follows:. Periods of Suspension for DUI If you are under age 21 and are convicted of for your first DUI, your driver's license will be suspended for: a six months if your blood alcohol level is below.
Maria Magher has been working as a professional writer since She has worked as an ESL teacher, a freshman composition teacher and an education reporter, writing for regional newspapers and online publications. She has written about parenting for Pampers and other websites.
Once upon a time, you turned 16 and you hit the road. Not anymore! The restrictions placed on teen drivers — especially the curfew — can be frustrating, but they do save lives.
A Certificate of Completion is a DDS prescribed certificate providing written proof that the student has successfully completed a driver education course consisting of thirty 30 hours of classroom and six 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction. For insurance reduction, a student must successfully complete this program and be issued a Certificate of Completion. A Limited Certificate of Completion is a DDS prescribed certificate providing written proof that the student has successfully completed a driver training course consisting of less than thirty 30 hours of classroom and six 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction.
The Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act introduced a graduated driver's license program in the state of Georgia. As a result, young drivers gain additional freedoms as they get older and become more experienced behind the wheel. Here's the lowdown on the driving age in Georgia.
This means that teens progress through a licensing process in three phases. As teens reach a certain age, complete certain requirements, and have demonstrated their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle, they are allowed to progress to the next phase. Successful progression to the next phase also requires a demonstration of responsibility on the part of the teen by avoiding any violations during the term of the license held. DUI, excessive speeding, etc.
DUI Attorney Help: Ignorance is never an excuse for disobeying traffic laws and in breaking these rules can get you a ticket or worse, get your license suspended. A Class D license is a provisional license more on that in a minute.
Register Now. Getting your Georgia learners permit and Georgia drivers license can be a confusing process, so we decided to make it easy. When a driver has held an instructional drivers permit for 12 months and is at least 16 years of age, he or she can apply for their Georgia intermediate drivers license.